I love to cook. And to try other people’s cooking! Having been in Spain before, there was some food I was looking forward to re-visiting. Take, for example, these humble but amazingly rich and delicious dates wrapped in bacon. They’re like the gelato of the tapas world. I tried to make them at home before, and achieving perfectly-textured bacon and non-crunchy dates was challenging. Thus, I give a lot of credit to this little tapas place in the Santa Cruz barrio in Sevilla for getting them just right…

One of my new favorite places is the Bar Alfalfa that I mentioned before. Here’s an example of what they offer for lunch…This is a tostada with Roquefort cheese and walnuts. In Sevilla, you can find Roquefort (a kind of blue cheese) on everything- chicken, pork, potatoes and so on. Also, most people here use a fork and knife when we uncouth Americans might just pick something up to eat, like in the case of this tostada, or pizza. It’s a cultural adjustment!

If you come to visit Spain (which you should! And visit me!), this is a super-typical breakfast: a tostada with tomato pulp and olive oil (tostada con tomate y aceite), fresh-squeezed orange juice, and a shot glass-size of café con leche. The coffee is more concentrated here, and usually very good, but I have to admit I miss Starbucks-sized coffees already.

Finally, the English translations of the menus here are often amusing enough to make the interminable waits for the waiters here pass quickly. For example, one restaurant listed sangría as “bleeding cup”- doesn’t that sound appetizing? A friend in my orientation ordered a “sweet pancake” from a menu, and here’s what she got…

Aren’t the sprinkles a cute touch?

More (many more!) food pics to come!

Besos,

Jenna

